Thread: Surfboard 6190 Modem... 32 x 8 Channels

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 Surfboard 6190 Modem... 32 x 8 Channels 
    Operations Manager, Online Server Admin, Event Setup Administrator InSaNeOldGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Wake Island
    Posts
    2,271
    PG LANS Attended
    30
    Name:  6190 Modem Forum.jpg
Views: 1038
Size:  227.0 KB

    If you're a Gamer, then speed is everything. Constant upgrades are your life. So we've had a lot of modems over the years... Remember the SB6121 and the SB6141 ? We still have those boxed up somewhere lol. And the SB6183 ? With 16 downstream channels and 4 upstream channels, this beast allowed us to enjoy our current Time Warner Austin's 300x20 connection. But now, Arris tosses out the SB6190:

    + 32 Download & 8 Upload channels
    + First Gigabit Cable Modem
    + Download speeds up to 1.4 Gbps with 262 Mbps Upload
    + DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem
    + Supports IPv4 and IPv6 – the latest Internet standard

    Obviously your cable provider would have to be pushing this for it to be fully operational, so if you added it to a provider's network that only utilizes 16x4 channels, the 6190 would still function, but would only work on 16x4 instead of it's 32x8. And of course it's not going to turn your 50 Mbps download into a Google Fiber 1 Gbps connection lol.

    Still... It's a good future proof for when Time Warner and Comcast jump to 1GB down. Comcast Corporate recently said "we will begin offering a new gigabit speed choice that works over the existing connections in our customers’ homes in several parts of the country" (source), but notice all they're talking about is Docsis 3.1 ---> The 6190 is Doc 3.0 :\ Is it a temporary shot in the arm ?

    I just have this feeling that TW is going to offer something considerably faster than 1GB down here in Austin. Like 2 Gbps down and 1Gbps up. Or maybe 4x2... Which means we'll need to wait for the SB8200. (info)

    At any rate (pun intended)... Since the 8200 doesn't even show up on Arris' product page yet (here), we'll probably buy the 6190 just to see what she'll do. Comcast has already added the 6190 to their list of approved modems (below), but when I called TW Austin yesterday, I was told they're still testing it.

    SOURCES:


    SB6190 Product Info

    Amazon Link with Pricing

    TW Approved Modem List

    Comcast Approved Modem List

    2016 Comcast XFINITY Approved Cable Modems
    Last edited by InSaNeOldGuy; 01-23-2016 at 12:18 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Webmaster, Lead Server, Network, Media and Tournament Admin Jordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    684
    PG LANS Attended
    30
    You can't handle 32 x 8!
    BAWLZ DEEP ALL DAY, EVERY DAY !
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Operations Manager, Online Server Admin, Event Setup Administrator InSaNeOldGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Wake Island
    Posts
    2,271
    PG LANS Attended
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Jordo View Post
    You can't handle 32 x 8!
    LOL........ I put that post up for you; I'm 64 x 16 brah !
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    LAN Member NavyChief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    167
    PG LANS Attended
    1
    I currently have the Arris DG1670A, which only utilizes 16 x 4.

    My provider is TWC and my speeds are:

    Name:  2016-01-22 11_32_42-Settings.png
Views: 372
Size:  26.8 KB

    Nothing like the speeds available in Austin, but hopefully the wait won't be too long for the DFW area.
    QuakeCon: 2009 (General), 2010 - 2014 (BYOC), 2015 (QdQ), 2016 (UAC)
    QuakeCon Volunteer: 2010 (cabling), 2014 -2016 (tournament setup)
    PowersGaming LAN: Nov 2016
    Peace Love & Rockets: PLR 15, PLR 16
    FadeCon: 2015, 2016, 2017
    PAX South: 2015
    Dreamhack Austin: 2016 (Founder)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Operations Manager, Online Server Admin, Event Setup Administrator InSaNeOldGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Wake Island
    Posts
    2,271
    PG LANS Attended
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by NavyChief View Post
    I currently have the Arris DG1670A
    That's a solid modem.. It's their flagship device for 300x20 (no phone). Is Dallas not charging $8/mo for "modem rental" ?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    LAN Member NavyChief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    167
    PG LANS Attended
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by InSaNeOldGuy View Post
    That's a solid modem.. It's their flagship device for 300x20 (no phone). Is Dallas not charging $8/mo for "modem rental" ?
    Currently pay $10 modem lease through TWC. Don't mind the fee since I don't have to worry about maintenance or replacement of unit. This unit is only 2 months old. The last one got fried during an electrical storm (current through cable) and I got a new one with no cost. Only took 2 minutes in-store time.
    QuakeCon: 2009 (General), 2010 - 2014 (BYOC), 2015 (QdQ), 2016 (UAC)
    QuakeCon Volunteer: 2010 (cabling), 2014 -2016 (tournament setup)
    PowersGaming LAN: Nov 2016
    Peace Love & Rockets: PLR 15, PLR 16
    FadeCon: 2015, 2016, 2017
    PAX South: 2015
    Dreamhack Austin: 2016 (Founder)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, United States
    Posts
    372
    PG LANS Attended
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by NavyChief View Post
    I currently have the Arris DG1670A, which only utilizes 16 x 4.

    My provider is TWC and my speeds are:

    Name:  2016-01-22 11_32_42-Settings.png
Views: 372
Size:  26.8 KB

    Nothing like the speeds available in Austin, but hopefully the wait won't be too long for the DFW area.
    Parts of DFW like where I live already have the speed!

    I am the 1%

    The price of 10gig networking stuff has dropped like crazy in the last year, and rumors are some of the first consumer non server mobos will ship with built in 10gig ports by the end of 2016. Currently that's the main reason that even google is not pushing anything above a 1gig, there is no consumer gear that can run faster than that. Now you have 802.11AC that can run at 5gig when using 4x4 antennas, it's just crazy to think that wifi is faster than wired in most people's homes now.
    2016 should be a big year for internet speeds and home network tech!
    Reply With Quote  
     

Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •